Five supply models, not one market.
Since late 2025, the cheapest hour of egocentric video has been free — and demand for egocentric data has kept climbing. Both are true because buyers are no longer buying the same thing. Supply has split into five structurally different models, and the money has moved to what free data can’t provide. Many vendor comparisons still put all five in one table, as if they were substitutes.
The question that matters is no longer who has the most hours. It is which of the five models a buyer is actually contracting with, because they differ in what can be licensed, how fast data ships, and whether it can be used commercially at all.
For informational purposes only — see the disclaimer at the end of this note.
1 · What changed
Through 2025, this looked like any other data market: more hours cost more money, and the biggest dataset won. That ended when permissively licensed supply caught up with the size of a large commercial corpus. At the 100K-hour scale, hours alone stopped being a moat.
Build AI released Egocentric-10K in November 2025 and Egocentric-100K a month later. The larger release is 100,405 hours under Apache 2.0 — free for commercial use, and verifiable on the dataset card. Both are gated on Hugging Face: users share contact details to get access. Free first-person video is not new; Ego4D has long offered about 3,700 hours under a signed license. What is new is free supply at commercial scale.
Sources: Ego4D project documentation; Build AI and Lightwheel dataset cards on Hugging Face; Lightwheel’s release note of August 26, 2026. All accessed September 19, 2026.
Free is not the same product as paid. The 100K release ships at 256p with no IMU, no hand pose and no contact labels; the 10K release is 1080p but an order of magnitude smaller. At the 100K-hour scale, free supply is still raw factory footage. The annotated tier is catching up: in August 2026, Lightwheel began publishing EgoSuite-Open100K — 10,000 hours live out of a planned 100,000, spanning homes, hospitality, retail, sports, logistics, offices and industrial sites, with hand and body pose, licensed for commercial training but not for resale. The claim here is narrow, and hard to argue with: a paid hour now has to be different from a free hour — not just more of the same.
None of this means buyers are spending less. Volume is still valuable; generic volume is no longer scarce. Dyna-2 was pre-trained on more than one million hours of human video, and the company describes a path to ten million (Dyna Robotics, August 10, 2026). Figure’s in-house Index app was taking in 30 minutes of video every second when it launched on August 25, 2026, and the company says it will spend more than $1 billion on data and compute over the following twelve months. Micro1’s CEO estimates that robotics companies now spend more than $100 million a year buying real-world data (MIT Technology Review, April 1, 2026). One vendor was projecting a $100 million annual run rate by the end of 2026 (TechCrunch, September 11, 2026). And a 2026 Sinolink Securities report puts all usable, high-quality real-world interaction data at roughly 500,000 hours — far short of what general-purpose models are thought to need. Supply is elastic: all it takes is a head-mounted camera and an hourly wage. So strong demand shows up as volume, and as a premium on whatever is hard to copy. It does nothing for the price of footage anyone can record.
2 · Five supply models
Strip away the vendor names and there are five ways to get an hour of egocentric data. They produce legally and technically different assets. One question separates them: who signs, and what can they actually grant? Price, labor model and annotation depth all follow from the answer. A vendor can sit in more than one bucket: Build AI captures inside factories and releases openly; Lightwheel sells annotated hours and now gives some away. Teleoperation and purpose-built collection sites produce a different unit and are out of scope for this note; they appear below only for reference.
Open and academic datasets
Sets the price floor at zero. License terms vary dataset by dataset: some academic releases are non-commercial only (EPIC-KITCHENS, CC BY-NC 4.0); others allow commercial use under a signed agreement that restricts redistribution (Ego-Exo4D). Treating “academic” as a single license class — in either direction — is the most common mistake in this market.
Gig workforce networks
Wins on unit cost by an order of magnitude. Rights rest mainly on individual consent, in some deployments supplemented by customer opt-in through a partner service company. That is enough for public spaces and homes. On its own, it does not reach an employer’s confidential processes.
Contributor networks with deep annotation
Among the deepest publicly described annotation stacks and the largest accumulated volumes. Rights structures are generally not published.
Platform and OEM in-house
A large and growing share of demand that never reaches the merchant market — that is, vendors that sell to anyone. It is no longer confined to the owner’s own premises, either: Figure’s Index app pays contributors in 108 countries to record tasks at home and inside businesses. What gets collected serves one buyer, and is often tied to a platform or to state-backed capital.
Employer-signed third-party capture
Agreements start with the operating business and work down: site access, permission to capture the processes visible in frame, and a channel for obtaining consent from everyone who appears, with a consent ID on every clip. To our knowledge, it is the only model that publishes this chain end to end. It is also the slowest to scale, because every site is a negotiation.
These are not quality tiers. A gig network is the right source for public-space navigation data and the wrong one for a commercial kitchen. An open dataset is the right place to start a visual backbone; it is not, on its own, something to build a deployment on. Ranking all five in a single list hides the one distinction that actually decides a purchase.
3 · Demand and capacity are in different places
This market is often described as consolidating around China. That is true of capacity and false of revenue, and conflating the two makes for bad forecasts.
The buyers that vendors actually name — frontier labs and robot makers — are concentrated in North America. Operated collection capacity is concentrated in Asia: purpose-built collection sites in China, and the lowest published contributor rates in India. Capital has followed both. In China, Lightwheel alone closed three rounds between March and June 2026 (Xinhua Finance, June 25, 2026); by the third quarter, the largest reported financings in progress were in the United States (XDOF, Mecka; TechCrunch, September 4 and 11, 2026).
Rates are not directly comparable: coverage, equipment and QA differ by market. Current job postings span a similar range, from $3 per accepted recorded hour in Southeast Asia to $30 an hour in North America (Chemin, July 2026; OpenTrain AI, September 2026). For reference, and not a wage: real-robot (teleoperated) data in China is priced at roughly ¥500–1,000 per hour (Nomura, July 2026, as reported by Tencent News, September 12, 2026). The order of magnitude is the point.
The implication is simple. A vendor whose costs and revenue sit in the same high-cost region is competing against vendors that have split the two — and against free. The models that survive that math either collect where costs are low and sell where demand is, or sell something that is not priced by the hour.
Splitting cost from revenue is not free, either. Footage of identifiable people leaving China falls under the PIPL and the 2024 cross-border rules: a standard-contract filing at lower volumes, and a security assessment once sensitive personal information of 10,000 or more people is exported in a year. India’s Digital Personal Data Protection Act applies to capture there. On the demand side, the FCC’s July 2026 decision to bar new foreign-made humanoid and quadruped robots is about devices, not datasets — but it shows how provenance questions are going to be asked. The arbitrage only works with a documented export path and per-engagement disclosure of where the data was collected.
4 · What became scarce
Undifferentiated video at the 100K-hour scale is no longer the bottleneck. That does not mean volume stopped mattering: NVIDIA’s EgoScale reports a log-linear scaling law across 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric video (arXiv:2602.16710), and vendors now report deliveries of human data in the millions of hours — company-reported figures, and not all of it egocentric video.
Figure 3 places the main datasets on two things that can be read off a dataset card: how many hours, and how much supervision those hours carry. It separates what the data contains from what has been demonstrated with it, and what has been released from what is merely held or planned. A million hours held, a million hours released and a million hours trained on are three different things.
Placements follow each publisher's paper, dataset card or official page, and are our classification. MOVAS-Ego 100K is drawn as a range because its layers are published but the hours carrying each layer are not; its contact layer is inferred from hand-surface distance, and no evidence of lift has been published. Maxinsights is placed according to its own description of tactile and force layers. Lift shown in a paper: Ego4D via R3M (CoRL 2022); EgoVerse (RSS 2026); EgoScale (arXiv:2602.16710). Dyna-2's scaling result is company-reported.
What separates a paid hour from a free one is a short list of four inputs. None of them comes from pointing more cameras at more people.
Rights that transfer. An individual can consent to the use of their own likeness. They cannot waive their employer’s confidentiality over the processes visible in frame, grant access to the site, or consent on behalf of the coworkers who appear alongside them. Most employment agreements restrict on-site recording before consent even comes up. A rights chain that stops at the contributor cannot clear what workplace footage requires, however carefully it was gathered. Nor can an employer’s signature stand in for the individuals’: it opens the site and covers confidentiality, and each person in frame still consents for themselves. A copyright license is not a rights chain, either: Apache 2.0 governs copying and is silent on privacy, likeness, biometrics and trade secrets.
Signals captured at the source. Labels derived from video — hand pose, camera trajectory, estimated contact — can be recomputed by anyone as open perception models improve. Streams that were never recorded cannot: unstabilized ego-motion, inertial data, depth, tactile and force. Vision alone does not recover weight, friction or contact force, which is why several vendors now pair head-mounted capture with sensorized gloves. What is sensed at capture time is a more durable advantage than what is annotated afterward. MOVAS-Ego 100K records stereo video, hardware-synchronized inertial data and unstabilized ego-motion; it does not include tactile or force streams.
Refinement into robot-native data. Raw video is already supervision — world-model and latent-action pre-training use it directly. It is not yet robot-native supervision. Hand-surface contact state, metric-scale geometry and retargeted trajectories validated against a specific end effector are the difference between a dataset and a policy input. Open releases now carry hand and body pose; none at scale yet carries contact state, metric-scale geometry or retargeted trajectories validated against a specific end effector.
Evidence of lift. This market has almost no independent evaluation. Buyers are asked to take it on faith that a dataset improves a policy, and the vendor selling the data is usually the one measuring it — ourselves included; see Method and disclosures. Neutral evaluation is the most obviously missing layer, and the likeliest to appear next.
5 · The comparison
Vendors and sources of egocentric hours, one row each. One rule: every row carries a source, and no row gets in without one. The Model column is our own classification, per Section 2. Scale is stated in each provider’s own accounting and labeled as such — held, delivered, released, uploaded or planned — because those are different quantities. MOVAS AI is listed as one vendor among several and held to the same standard.
| Provider | Model | Supply model | Published scale | Annotation depth | Rights structure | Delivery | Typical use case | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MOVAS AI | 05 | Employer-signed third-party workplaces | Held: 100,000 h · Released publicly: none · Customer training use: not disclosed | Control L1–L5 annotation (contact inferred from MANO surface distance) + 4D + MoCap + 3D + retargeting to five end effectors · 62 mm stereo, 476 Hz hardware-synced IMU, EIS off | Employer agreement, then individual consent; consent ID on every clip | UMI · LeRobot · RDT · OXE · native | Contact-rich work where workplace rights have to survive legal review | movas.ai — company-reported |
| Maxinsights | 03 | Global capture network plus in-house processing | Held: 1.5M h · Delivered: 2M h to date · modality mix not published | Multi-layer, incl. tactile and force; recovery of occluded and fast-motion cases | Not published | Not published | One of the deepest publicly described annotation stacks among the providers reviewed, at volume | Xinzhiyuan, Sep 11, 2026 — company-reported |
| Build AI | 01 · captured in factories | Factory workers on proprietary head-mounted rigs; open release | Released: 100,405 h (plus an earlier 10,000 h) · 14,228 workers · 10.8B frames · Held: not published | 256p raw video — no IMU, no hand pose, no contact labels | Apache 2.0 (a copyright license); gated access. Consent and site-permission chain not published | Hugging Face streaming | Free industrial volume for visual pre-training | Hugging Face dataset card, accessed Sep 19, 2026 |
| Lightwheel | 03 · 01 | Real-world capture plus simulation; open release since Aug 2026 | Delivered: >1.5M h of human data (company-reported; not all egocentric video) · 25,000+ environment nodes · 100,000+ task types · Released: 10,000 h · Planned: 100,000 h (EgoSuite-Open100K) | Video, audio, depth, structured labels; open release carries hand pose, body pose and event-level semantics | Commercial: not published. Open release: informed individual consent; commercial training permitted, no resale; access on request | Sim-ready, robot-agnostic; LeRobot v3 and MCAP for the open release | Breadth across task types, with a simulation path | Xinhua Finance, Jun 25, 2026 — company-reported; Hugging Face dataset card and release note, Aug 26, 2026 |
| Mecka | 02–03 | Paid contributor network; body sensors and phones | Held, delivered: not published | Human motion capture, oriented to world models | Not published | Not published | World-model programs that need human motion at volume | Fortune, Jun 1, 2026; TechCrunch, Sep 11, 2026 |
| Human Archive | 02 | Home-services, hotel and restaurant workers in camera caps, deployed through partner service companies; India, expanding to Southeast Asia and the U.S. | Hours not published · 1,000+ active headsets · base rate $1/hour (peers reported at ₹250–400/hour) | Sensor suite as described by the company and its investor: headset RGB-D, tactile gloves and force feedback, full-body motion capture, chest and wrist cameras; annotation layers not published | Partner-company deployment; customers opt in through the app in exchange for a discounted service; workers paid hourly. Company says contracts comply with India’s DPDP Act, data is anonymized and faces are blurred. Full rights chain not published | Not published | Low-cost, multi-sensor volume in service settings | TechCrunch, May 26, 2026 |
| Appen | 03 | Enterprise contributor network | Hours not published · 1M+ contributors | Boxes, segmentation, action labels | Enterprise governance framework | Enterprise pipelines | Compliance-heavy enterprise programs | appen.com — company-reported |
| Ego-Exo4D | 01 | Academic consortium release (Meta FAIR and university partners) | Released: 1,286 h, of which 221 egocentric (v2) | Body and hand pose, segmentation masks, expert commentary | Signed license agreement covering research and commercial use; redistribution restricted | Download after license approval | Perception benchmarks and pose priors | Ego-Exo4D documentation, accessed Sep 19, 2026 |
| Figure (Index; Brookfield) | 04 | OEM in-house: the Index app pays contributors worldwide to record tasks at home and inside businesses; capture across Brookfield properties | Uploaded: 16M videos from 108 countries; 30 minutes of video per second at launch · $15M paid to contributors · Accepted for training: not disclosed · Released: none | Five-stage internal pipeline ending in hierarchical annotation; layers not published | Individual contributor terms; serves one buyer, not offered on the merchant market | n/a | Pre-training for the OEM’s own model | Figure, “Introducing Index,” Aug 25, 2026 — company-reported; Brookfield partnership, Sep 17, 2025 |
“Not published” means the provider does not state it publicly — not that it does not exist. “Company-reported” means published by the provider and not independently verified. Hours are in each provider’s own accounting and are not a common unit: inventory held, hours delivered, hours released and hours planned are different quantities, and Lightwheel describes its 1.5 million hours as human data, not egocentric video specifically.
Adjacent: robot-native
XDOF. Teleoperation plus wearable-sensor human capture; in-house pipelines; about 20 customers, including frontier AI labs. Commercial hours are not published. Its open release, ABC-130K, is 134,806 episodes across 195 tasks, 3,553 hours, under Apache 2.0 (arXiv:2606.27375). Robot-native trajectories are a different unit from human video and sit outside the five models. Sources: SiliconANGLE, Jun 17, 2026; TechCrunch, Sep 4, 2026.
Left out of the table
Awign
We could not find a primary source. The figure traces back to industry roundups, not to the company or to named coverage.
Luel
The only traceable source is an SEO roundup published by an annotation vendor that ranks itself first.
EgoData
Publishes no scale figure. Its sample portal is client-rendered and returns no indexable content.
6 · What to watch
Five things would change this analysis, roughly in order of likelihood.
Sources
- Build AI, Egocentric-100K and Egocentric-10K dataset cards and organization page, Hugging Face — accessed September 19, 2026.
- Lightwheel, EgoSuite-Open100K release note (Hugging Face, August 26, 2026) and EgoStandard dataset card — accessed September 19, 2026.
- Figure, “Introducing Index,” August 25, 2026; Figure and Brookfield partnership announcement, September 17, 2025.
- Washington Post, April 17, 2026 (DoorDash Tasks); MIT Technology Review, April 1, 2026 (Micro1); Rest of World, June 3, 2026 (China); Bloomberg, August 12, 2026 (India).
- Ego4D and Ego-Exo4D project documentation (license scope, hours, annotations) — accessed September 19, 2026.
- Dyna Robotics, Dyna-2 announcement, PR Newswire, August 10, 2026.
- TechCrunch, “Mecka AI nears $500M valuation in Sequoia-led deal,” September 11, 2026; and its report on XDOF, September 4, 2026.
- TechCrunch, “This startup is betting India’s gig economy can train the world’s robots” (Human Archive), May 26, 2026, citing the Economic Times and Moneycontrol.
- SiliconANGLE, “Robotic teleoperation data startup XDOF launches with $70M in funding,” June 17, 2026; Allshire et al., arXiv 2606.27375, June 25, 2026 (ABC-130K).
- Xinhua Finance, interview with Lightwheel, June 25, 2026; Zhongguancun Science City notice, June 1, 2026.
- Tencent News, September 12, 2026, citing Nomura (China robotics report, July 2026) and Sinolink Securities (China embodied-intelligence industry report, 2026).
- OpenTrain AI contributor postings, September 4 and 10, 2026; Chemin contributor posting, July 2026.
- FCC, Covered List update adding foreign-produced advanced robotic devices, July 28, 2026.
- Cyberspace Administration of China, Provisions on Promoting and Regulating Cross-Border Data Flows, March 22, 2024, Articles 7–8.
Questions this raises
No. It has split into five supply models that are not substitutes for one another: open datasets, gig networks, contributor networks with deep annotation, platform and OEM in-house collection, and employer-signed third-party capture. A buyer choosing among them is choosing between different legal assets, not different prices for the same thing.
Because a permissively licensed release caught up with the size of a large commercial corpus. Build AI’s Egocentric-100K is 100,405 hours under Apache 2.0, free for commercial use. Once free supply matches paid inventory, a paid hour has to be different — not just more of the same.
Because supply is elastic. Recording a first-person hour takes a head-mounted camera and an hourly wage, so strong demand shows up as volume rather than as a higher price for undifferentiated hours. What demand does raise is the premium on inputs that are hard to copy: transferable rights, signals captured at the source, refinement and evidence. Spend is rising while the commodity price falls — the signature of a market that is scaling, not shrinking.
In different places. The buyers that vendors actually name are concentrated in North America; collection capacity is concentrated in Asia, with purpose-built sites in China and the lowest published contributor rates in India. A vendor whose costs and revenue sit in the same region is competing against one that has split them — and moving footage between the two requires a documented legal path.
Four things. The right to use footage recorded inside someone else’s operating business; signals captured at the source that cannot be recomputed later; the refinement that turns video into a trajectory a specific robot can execute; and independent evidence that the data moved a policy’s success rate. None of the four comes from collecting more hours.
Probably — and that is the wrong thing to watch. The more interesting shift is that open releases have started to carry manipulation-relevant annotation, not just raw video: Lightwheel’s EgoSuite-Open100K ships hand and body pose under a commercial-training license. If annotation follows hours into the commons, the scarce layer moves again — toward rights, source signals and proof.
The physical data scaling law: what to scale, and where the curve bends
Scale still matters. What needs scaling is the state space, not the hour count.
ReadThe physical data engine: building the data layer for generalist robots
A dataset ages. An engine that knows what it holds, what it lacks and what to collect next does not.
ReadCan robots learn from YouTube? A pipeline, and the arithmetic behind it
From rights gating through candidate discovery, 3D, contact and state transitions to training routing.
Read